Thread: Mast Repair

Ordinary Seaman
    United States

Log Entries
    Name
    Kirk

Default Mast Repair

I'm no expert in naval warfare in the age of sail, but I'm wondering how realistic it is to be able to repair a mast in the heat of combat. Or, does "mast damage" mean something different than what I'm thinking it means - aka a mainmast falling over? Is mast damage and its subsequent repair meant to be more abstract than simply having an actual broken mast? Thanks.

Comptroller of the Navy Board
    Captain
    United States

Log Entries
    Name
    [RESTRICTED]

Some ships did carry entire spare masts, but my personal interpretation is "mast repair" in game is more like installing a spare yardarm to replace a broken one. Masts were basically entire tree trunks, requiring specialized crane/derrick structures like a sheer hulk to install and seat in their sockets.
    --Diamondback
    PMH, SME, TLA, BBB
    Historical Consultant to Ares, Wings and Sails - Unless otherwise noted, all comments are strictly Personal Opinion ONLY and not to be taken as official Company Policy.

Admiral of the Fleet.
    Baron
    England

Log Entries
    Blog Entries
    Name
    Rob

Basically mast damage is cumulative Kirk.
    It could be a rent sail or sheets shot away for instance. Even a mast part shot away can be patched up in battle by the ships carpenter and his men. However, as you will see from the rules gradually damage takes its toll and masts do fall. If you get several hits and a mast finally goes, your ability to sail and manoeuvre is impaired until finally if all masts are shot away you become a floating hulk and surrender. Note that in real sea battles even hulks sometimes fought on. They were then prey to being raked or bombarded by enemy vessels positioned outside their own arc of fire, so they generally did not survive for long in this state.

Rob.