Thread: Thinning Your Paints

Midshipman
    United States

Log Entries
    Name
    Jason

Default Thinning Your Paints

I always hear you should thin your paints before applying them to a model, but I find that I really don't need to. I tend to apply a small, thin amount at a time already, not globbing it on, so I guess that's probably it. Has anyone else found this while while painting?

Midshipman
    United States

Log Entries
    Name
    Jason

Maybe, it's that I'm an inexperienced painter and don't realize I'm doing it wrong?

If you are an inexperienced painter and you have to paint wood I give you some advice for beginners

Use warm colors, not dark. For example, to paint the deck of a ship use a very light brown. Then once it is dry, apply a dark ink so that the ink penetrates the holes and everything is well defined. If you've never painted, this would be a good start.

If you need reference about brands and materials you can ask me.

Midshipman
    United States

Log Entries
    Name
    Jason

Thanks! This is what my decks look like now. I guess I should also clarify: I'm new to painting miniatures, but I used to paint on canvas.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

There are trademarks that sell special inks to give contrast.
    For example, Citadel has a lot of good inks that could make your life easier.

Midshipman
    United States

Log Entries
    Name
    Jason

Since I did this, I did buy a bottle of Nuln Oil.

Midshipman
    United States

Log Entries
    Name
    Jason

What do you think about thinning paints?

Try this combination for the deck:

Layer: Ungor Flesh from citadel ( aply two or three fines a diluated layer better than one layer paste)

Ink: Agrax Earthshade (without shines)

Keep in mind that the combination I have told you is for an acceptable result, not for a work of art.