Hybrid View

Landsman
    United States

Log Entries
    Name
    Matt

Default New to the Forum

Ahoy, shipmates!

Although I signed up a couple of years ago, it was at a time when things were more amorphous and I was not able to post...and so now I am 'legitimate' in being able to post and reply!

I have been playing Wings in its various forms for several years now, and Sails has crept its way into the game realm, too - one of our guys we regularly play with is an avid naval enthusiast. ANYWAY - it's a great game and I look forward to playing more often. Meeting Simon (Ensign Patch) this past summer only fueled my desire to get more 'into' the whole 'Sails' experience.

I look forward to being a member of this Forum!

All the best,
    Matt

Master & Commander
    United States

Log Entries
    Name
    Paul

Welcome Matt.

Landsman
    United States

Log Entries
    Name
    Matt

I have to say that my 'first' experience with Sails gaming was with Wooden Ships and Iron Men in 1975 when I was stationed in West Berlin. That's when I also discover the "Bolitho' series of books at the NAAFI in the British Sector - I grabbed 'em all and read them cover to cover - then came the Hornblower series from Penguin shorty after...I was hooked

We've started playing Sails in our little group here, and it's great stuff! I think a pirate ship is in the offing for the near future...

All the best,
    Matt

Ordinary Seaman
    United States

Log Entries
    Name
    Bob

I used to play Wooden Ships. As a matter of fact I was picking up after my dog this afternoon and saw my copy. I didn't remember bringing it home from storage.
    Welcome aboard!

Landsman
    United States

Log Entries
    Name
    Rick

Hello Matt. What part of Ohio do you hail from? We are starting a Sails of Glory Group at Game Haven - right across from The National Museum of the US Air Force and Wright Patterson Air Force Base near Dayton, Ohio. We are looking for interested captains.

Admiral. R.I.P.