Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Partial Broadsides

  1. #1
    Landsman
    England

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Worcs.
    Log Entries
    11
    Name
    John B

    Default Partial Broadsides

    When one fires either the forward or rear section of a broadside does one still have to wait for reload to fire any other section?.

    John B.

  2. #2

    Default

    yes

  3. #3
    Captain
    United States

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    WA
    Log Entries
    3,166
    Name
    [RESTRICTED]

    Default

    Under standard rules... it makes no real-world sense to me other than easier recordkeeping as a "Game Thing," but I've never tried it otherwise.

    Might be worth a playtest, just to see if that sheds any light on why it was done... :)
    --Diamondback
    PMH, SME, TLA, BBB

  4. #4
    Admiral of the Blue.
    Baron
    England

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Notts
    Log Entries
    12,976
    Blog Entries
    22
    Name
    Rob

    Default

    I did consider putting my Carronades as the forrard and aft batteries, but then realized that though they could fire every move, it would not prevent the rule stopping the full broadside still being penalized.
    In our games, Sea legs who is an ex artilleryman gets quite vocal on this matter every time it occurs.
    Rob.
    The Business of the commander-in-chief is first to bring an enemy fleet to battle on the most advantageous terms to himself, (I mean that of laying his ships close on board the enemy, as expeditiously as possible); and secondly to continue them there until the business is decided.

  5. #5
    Captain of the Fleet
    Master & Commander
    UK

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    South Glos
    Log Entries
    1,675
    Name
    Chris

    Default

    The only time, as far as I remember, you can only fire continuously if using the continuous fire optional rule, but the fire value is halved

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •