Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Struck Sails Clarification

  1. #1
    Landsman
    United States

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Il
    Log Entries
    5
    Name
    Gary

    Question Struck Sails Clarification

    I appreciate any help on this one. I am trying to understand beginning movement again after Sails have been Struck. If I am reading the rules correctly, it seems like a ship goes from zero movement to moving quickly in very short order. Do I have this turn order correct:

    Turn 1: Planning - Sails are struck so no maneuver card is added during Planning. Plan a Raise Sails action
    Action Phase: Raise sails to Backing Sails.
    Movement Phase: No movement as there is no card to play.

    Turn 2: Planning Place a maneuver card in slot 2. Plan a Raise Sails Action
    Action Phase: Raise sails to Battle Sails
    Movement Phase: No movement as there are not two cards in place on the mat
    Move card from slot 2 to slot 1

    Turn 3: Planning Place a maneuver card in slot 2. Plan a Raise Sails Action
    Action Phase: Raise sails to Full Sails
    Movement phase: Move ship according to maneuver card in Slot 1 at Full Sail speed.

    It just seems to me that going from zero movement to the first move potentially being at Full Sail feels wrong to me. Am I missing something? Thanks for the help.

  2. #2
    Admiral of the Blue.
    Baron
    England

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Notts
    Log Entries
    14,718
    Blog Entries
    22
    Name
    Rob

    Default

    Not quite as you have it Gary.

    Place a backing sail chit.
    Planning phase one, place card.
    Planning phase two place second card.
    Move off on movement phase with backing sails, and then change sail settings as normal thereafter.
    Rob.

  3. #3
    Landsman
    United States

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Il
    Log Entries
    5
    Name
    Gary

    Default

    Thank you so much for the quick answer.

    Gary

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •