Thread: Is damage a bit too swingy / slippery slope?

Able Seaman
    United States

Log Entries
    Name
    Steve

Default Is damage a bit too swingy / slippery slope?

I've played Sails of Glory for a few years now and, while I'm far from an expert with the system, I've played enough to have formed a few impressions of the game.

One of the things that bothers me a bit is that damage seems quite swingy, to the point that - in a 1v1 duel, for example - whoever gets the luckier draw on the first broadside exchange often gets out to such a commanding lead that it becomes quite difficult to fight back. If the advanced rules and special damages are used, the slippery slope becomes even steeper, where the unlucky recipient of the worse damage simply goes further and further into the hole fighting fires, fixing masts, and plugging leaks.

Now, I am nowhere near the naval historian of some here, and am very much in the more beginning phase of my reading about historical battles and whatnot. I'm not saying that the damage mechanic as reflected in SoG is ahistorical or that there aren't examples of exactly this type of thing happening (devastating broadsides).

My question is really more around whether this makes the game as fun as it might otherwise be?

Specifically, since dodging your opponent's firing arcs is not that easy, it really does come down to the luck of the draw - the scope for tactical maneuvering and/or having the weather gage not being such a meaningful thing within the rules. The "tactics" seem to boil down to not much more than trying to plan to get close (i.e. guess your opponent's moves) and have luckily chosen the "right" ammo (ideally double shot)... and then relying on your opponent drawing a lot of brutal hits and not too many zeroes.

Or is it more like I just need to "learn to play, noob" and "get good" and there's nothing wrong with the system, it's just a personal failing to appreciate it for what it is?