Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: AAR: The Treasure Galleon - by spiessbuerger (Royal Prussian Navy)

  1. #1
    Midshipman
    Germany

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    BW
    Log Entries
    180
    Name
    Matthias

    Default AAR: The Treasure Galleon - by spiessbuerger (Royal Prussian Navy)

    Prussia (Player):
    Kapitän zur See Karl Rudolf Brommy (Aiming Captain) commanding the frigate Radetzky (Courageuse)
    Kapitänleutnant Philipp von Mansfeld (Deft Captain) commanding the frigate Thetis (HMS Meleager)

    Spain (AI):
    Captain Salvador de la Pura (no special ability) commanding the galleon Buque de Plata (HMS Defence)

    Location: Atlantic Ocean 29°47'58"N 17°50'19"W

    Prussian Order: Find and capture the Spanish Galleon “Buque de Plata”

    Name:  Solo-Szenario_Juli-2014_Map.jpg
Views: 143
Size:  104.8 KB

    Game settings:
    Standard rules (Veer, Time to React for player ships, Raking Shots) but only firing with ball
    Plus additional rules: Variable Wind Direction, Boarding, Forced Aim, Continuous Fire, Let the Men Drink!, Crew Damage Effects on Captains, Disengagement and Ship-Hits instead of Base-Hits



    Name:  IMG_2569_text.jpg
Views: 145
Size:  111.7 KB

    After spotting the Spanish Galleon the Prussian frigate Thetis signals to go in formation with the nearby Prussian frigate Radetzky.

    Name:  IMG_2576.jpg
Views: 144
Size:  100.3 KB

    Both ships turn to lee while forming to engage the Spanish ship together.

    Name:  IMG_2579_text.jpg
Views: 155
Size:  112.5 KB

    The Prussian frigates start to turn into the wind. Just in that moment the Buque de Plata fires a long broadside onto the Thetis. (filled 3 boxes)
    Holy ship’s kobold! These Spanish sailors shoot well.

    Name:  IMG_2582.jpg
Views: 138
Size:  100.4 KB

    The Prussian frigates sound the counter attack. But either the Prussians nor the Spanish Galleon are in shooting angle or reach for their broadsides.

    Name:  IMG_2584_text.jpg
Views: 159
Size:  111.3 KB

    Unfortunately the Thetis lost to much speed do go through the wind. The planned blockade against the course of the Spanish Galleon threatens to fail.

    Name:  IMG_2585_text.jpg
Views: 141
Size:  112.5 KB

    Now the Buque de Plata tries to break through both Prussian frigates and fires with all guns. But the Prussians reply the fire. Serious damages on both sides as the smoke clears onto the water.

    Name:  IMG_2590.jpg
Views: 143
Size:  108.2 KB

    While all ships are reloading the Buque de Plata looses speed and drifts back. The more agile Prussian frigates orbiting her to get some good shot.

    Name:  IMG_2596.jpg
Views: 157
Size:  99.3 KB

    The Thetis needs to use the "Deft Captain Ability" to rotate the ship a little bit for better broadside angle. But the next broadside from the Buque de Plata hits her hard again. Only three boxes left now the Thetis has to roll the dice against disengagement – and fails. (diced a 5)

    Name:  IMG_2598_text.jpg
Views: 131
Size:  107.9 KB

    Without losing men the Thetis leaves the battlefield and let the Radetzky down with the Buque de Plata. So the tide turns to the Buque de Plata which is further drifting back until she collides with the Radetzky. A first boarding attemt of the Buque de Plata over the Radetzky fails.

    Name:  IMG_2605.jpg
Views: 146
Size:  115.9 KB

    Both ships lost their speed now and drift into lee. A deadly boarding and muskets fight breaks out for three rounds. Both Captains have to dice now but were not injured.

    Name:  IMG_2616_text.jpg
Views: 143
Size:  117.6 KB

    At the end both ships are turning side by side and fire a final broadside to each other and the last crew boxes of both ships where filled at the same time.
    Both captains has to dice one last time if they were wounded: but both were lucky and did not sustain any injuries.
    Last edited by spiessbuerger; 07-28-2014 at 12:33. Reason: error correcting in picture text

  2. #2
    Midshipman
    Germany

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    BW
    Log Entries
    180
    Name
    Matthias

    Default

    Result:

    The final status of the disengaged and unlucky Prussian frigate Thetis (only 6 hits):

    Name:  Thetis final.jpg
Views: 137
Size:  137.7 KB

    The final status of the brave but surrendered Prussian frigate Radetzky. The Captain could never use his Aiming Ability:

    Name:  Radetzky final.jpg
Views: 133
Size:  140.5 KB

    The final status of the surrendered Spanish Galleon Buque de Plata:

    Name:  Buque de Plata final.jpg
Views: 132
Size:  139.2 KB

    Prussia
    Captain Karl Rudolf Brommy (P) on the frigate Radetzky: surrendered same time with the Buque de Plata, no injuries
    Captain Philipp von Mansfeld (P) on the frigate Thetis: disengaged and returned to port, no injuries

    Spain
    Captain Salvador de la Pura (AI) on the Galleon Buque de Plata: surrendered same time with the Radetzky, no injuries

    +5 Points for defeating the Spanish Galleon (eliminated by filling all crew boxes, with at least one empty hull box)
    -3 Points for surrendered Prussian frigate Radetzky

    narrow victory (+2) for the Royal Prussian Navy

  3. #3

    Default

    Great AAR! Photos, narrative and presentation all are excellent. Congratulations on your victory too!

  4. #4
    Ordinary Seaman
    United States

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ohio
    Log Entries
    37
    Name
    Rob

    Default

    Congratulations on achieving your mission.

  5. #5
    Midshipman
    Germany

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    BW
    Log Entries
    180
    Name
    Matthias

    Default

    Question 1: the Radetzky (Player) and the Galleon (AI) did surrender at the same time.
    The other Players frigate (Thetis) was still on table but disengaging. Did she auto-capture both surrendered captains? I would say yes.

    Question 2: if a ship is disengaging, is it for the rest of the game? Or is it possible that the ship come back into battle? (for example if the balance of power is turning to her side)


    Thanks Jim and Rob for your Feedback and grats

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spiessbuerger View Post
    Question 1: the Radetzky (Player) and the Galleon (AI) did surrender at the same time.
    The other Players frigate (Thetis) was still on table but disengaging. Did she auto-capture both surrendered captains? I would say yes.

    Question 2: if a ship is disengaging, is it for the rest of the game? Or is it possible that the ship come back into battle? (for example if the balance of power is turning to her side)


    Thanks Jim and Rob for your Feedback and grats
    Good questions. Just my opinion, but I would say for Question 1, if the AI ship and Player ships surrendered at the same time and you still had a player ship on the mat then the moral of the disengaging ship would change dramatically. If it isn't an automatic capture I'd certainly make the odds of it happening strongly favor the remaining player. As for Question 2 I know from the rules that a disengaging player (whether AI or not) is still going to take opportunity fire as it leaves the game. If it's still on the mat when a big change occurs I would see it coming back into play potentially, if not automatically?

  7. #7

    Default

    Great AAR, Matthias.

    Well presented and nice pictures.

    I was impressed by the boarding action.

    Question 1: Your side dominated the battlefield. Surrendered or not. Th las remaing ships get the prize and equip captured or own surrendered ships with crew.

    Question 2: I would say no. If a ship decides to disengage it should leave the battlefield. Once it left the gaming aera, it should be out of the game, otherwise it should keep the distance in the gaming aera and engage in the best situation again.

  8. #8
    Admiral of the Blue.
    Baron
    England

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Notts
    Log Entries
    13,678
    Blog Entries
    22
    Name
    Rob

    Default

    Not only a very entertaining encounter, but also some useful comments after the AAR.
    I will take on board those suggestions for future reference.
    Thanks Matt for an entertaining game.
    Rob.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •