PDA

View Full Version : Excited to play SoG, and I have a question for the hard-core naval gamers

GreenLaborMike
04-05-2013, 21:07
Hello to everyone! I am a long time gamer (now 42, started with Candyland at 3), and long time fan of tallships, sailing, and, of course, Patrick O'Brian (even before the film came out). But I am extremely new to naval miniatures games. I came across an ad for SoG while at BoardGameGeek, and after checking it out, decided that I want to take the plunge, based on the apparent ease of play combined with reasonably realistic simulation of naval combat.

My question to the long time/hard core naval miniature game fans out there is: I assume there are a lot of other games/rulesets that cover the same ground (sea?), so what sets this game apart? I've been lurking a week or so, and have read the obvious and sincere enthusiasm that so many of you have in looking forward to this game. Does it fill some niche that has so far remained empty? I have no experience with other games of this type, so I have no point of reference to compare it with. I am glad to know so many others are as excited as I am (I pledged as a Captain without even knowing if I will have anyone to play with here in the East Bay of California). But I'm curious to know what the draw is for those who presumably already have other games with a similar theme.

Thanks in advance! And as others have expressed, I will definitely up my pledge if more ships are added as stretch goals. Please take my money!

Coog
04-06-2013, 07:05