PDA

View Full Version : Ship designs - why such a tubby look?

RedLeif
03-02-2013, 10:31
Hi
Do any of you know why the big warships of this period had such rounded bows? When I look at modern ships most have much more angled bows. What was the biggest influence or factor in the 'look' of these designs? Was it a limitation of construction materials? They must have realized that a tapered narrow hull moves faster than a wide blunt shape. I do realize part of the answer has to do with the armaments of the day. One needs quite a bit of room to accommodate the recoil of the smooth bore cannon fired out the side of the ship. But one could surely have designed the needed wide body yet with a tapered bow? Without a long lesson in naval architecture I'm just curious if a short answer is handy to any of you.

Thanks,
Leif

RichardPF
03-02-2013, 17:01
While I am not a naval architect by trade I did complete a program from the Westlawn School of Marine Technology some years ago so can probably answer this to at least a first pass level.

Some of the shape does have to do with the structural strength of the materials available at the time, but for the intended application the shape is not that far off of what the best possible design would look like today constructed with modern materials.