PDA

View Full Version : Question/Idea for ships run aground

TalkMonkey
09-04-2018, 13:52
Hello all,

I am finding that I am a remarkably inept ship pilot. I have run aground of the shoals and reefs far more times than I care to admit. I will say that I use the advanced rules with planning the next turn's move in the current turn, but, really, there is no excuse for my poor seamanship.

So in lieu of becoming a better navigator, are there any "rules of the house" to re-launch or re-float a grounded ship using another vessel as tug or to use the ship's boats to pull it back into deeper waters? I recognize I would need to purchase or scratch build some jolly boat minis but that seems a more accessible option than learning to avoid the blasted shallows! Once I figure this out, I need to set up a mission to recapture the grounded HMS Victory. Letting her founder in range of the French coastal battery is simply NOT an option...

Any thoughts or direction to an already existent thread would be greatly appreciated.

Bligh
09-04-2018, 14:14
I use ships boats to carry an anchor out and then winch her off. One turn to lower boat one turn to row out a musket range, one turn to drop anchor, and then one turn to winch ship out to the anchor point. If not enough sea room, repeat until there is. Takes a while, but then it serves you right for going aground! Much less hassle than a Court Martial.:wink:
Bligh.

Naharaht
10-03-2018, 10:29
I have designed a few command counters for using a lowering/raising a rowing boat, using a rowing boat, dropping an anchor and using a capstan to winch the ship. What do you think about using them?

TalkMonkey
10-03-2018, 11:31
David, these are fantastic! I was going to give something like this a go, but you beat me to it. Nicely DONE!!!

Bligh
10-03-2018, 12:57
Superbly useful Dave.

Just what was needed.

Will you pop 'em into your Photo album so that we can get a first class copy.

Rob.

Naharaht
10-03-2018, 19:03