PDA

View Full Version : Ohio: New to the Forum

bolitho
10-04-2017, 16:26
Ahoy, shipmates!

Although I signed up a couple of years ago, it was at a time when things were more amorphous and I was not able to post...and so now I am 'legitimate' in being able to post and reply!:beer:

I have been playing Wings in its various forms for several years now, and Sails has crept its way into the game realm, too - one of our guys we regularly play with is an avid naval enthusiast. ANYWAY - it's a great game and I look forward to playing more often. Meeting Simon (Ensign Patch) this past summer only fueled my desire to get more 'into' the whole 'Sails' experience.

I look forward to being a member of this Forum!

All the best,
Matt

Cmmdre
10-04-2017, 16:42
Welcome Matt. :salute:

bolitho
10-04-2017, 17:56
I have to say that my 'first' experience with Sails gaming was with Wooden Ships and Iron Men in 1975 when I was stationed in West Berlin. That's when I also discover the "Bolitho' series of books at the NAAFI in the British Sector - I grabbed 'em all and read them cover to cover - then came the Hornblower series from Penguin shorty after...I was hooked:beer:

We've started playing Sails in our little group here, and it's great stuff! I think a pirate ship is in the offing for the near future...

All the best,
Matt

Naharaht
10-05-2017, 00:31
Welcome to the Anchorage, Matt, from here 'Across the Pond'. There is much on this site to help you enjoy the game and do feel free to ask any questions you may have. You will find that members here are very friendly and helpful.

Bligh
10-05-2017, 04:13
Hi Matt. Here is your formal welcome to the Anchorage from myself on behalf of all the sailors who frequent these waters.
I thought I recognised your e-mail address when I registered you.
May you sail with a fair wind and vanquish your enemies.
Rob.

HMS Goliath
10-05-2017, 20:40