PDA

View Full Version : How to fix Wave 3, 50 and 64 gun ships.

TexaS
02-21-2017, 02:54
First cut off the forestays.

Cut them apart and turn them around. Trim the lower edge to fit the other way.

Make extensions for the masts by heating some plastic rod and stretching it to the desired thickness. Being an old modeler I have plastic sprues I use.

Drill very shallow holes in the tops

Glue extensions in place.

Glue forestays in place. Let the inner point to the topgallant masts base.

I will repeat the mast extension for the topmasts too one level higher up, but I think it's the fighting tops that look most strange missing the tops of the masts.

Bligh
02-21-2017, 04:41
A nice little "How To" there Jonas and one which quite a few shipmates might find useful.
Would you like it made into an article?
Rob.

TexaS
02-21-2017, 06:15
What does that mean?

Bligh
02-21-2017, 06:41
I can make it an Article and post it on the "How to" forum for everyone to access without having to trawl the posts.
Rob.

TexaS
02-21-2017, 06:52
That sounds good to me.

Bligh
02-21-2017, 06:53
I'm on it.
Rob.

Nightmoss
02-21-2017, 10:50
It might be a bit easier and safer to purchase plastic rods of the correct dimension?

Do you use a heat gun or open flame to soften the plastic? In the old days I just used a candle to stretch plastic, but in retrospect breathing melting plastic fumes was probably not a good thing?

Bligh
02-21-2017, 12:16
That takes me back a few more years than I care to admit Jim.
What used to annoy me most was the black soot marks that got integrated with the plastic.
I agree that with the plastic and acrylic rods so easy to get these days, and the inherent dangers from plastic fumes, or accidental burns it hardly seems worth the effort to stretch your own.
Rob.

TexaS
02-21-2017, 12:34
I use an open flame.

The thing with buying rods is that you have to buy a lot of dimensions to have all the ones needed. But if you have them then that would be better

Bligh