PDA

View Full Version : Struck Sails Clarification



gmyers46
01-04-2017, 12:55
I appreciate any help on this one. I am trying to understand beginning movement again after Sails have been Struck. If I am reading the rules correctly, it seems like a ship goes from zero movement to moving quickly in very short order. Do I have this turn order correct:

Turn 1: Planning - Sails are struck so no maneuver card is added during Planning. Plan a Raise Sails action
Action Phase: Raise sails to Backing Sails.
Movement Phase: No movement as there is no card to play.

Turn 2: Planning Place a maneuver card in slot 2. Plan a Raise Sails Action
Action Phase: Raise sails to Battle Sails
Movement Phase: No movement as there are not two cards in place on the mat
Move card from slot 2 to slot 1

Turn 3: Planning Place a maneuver card in slot 2. Plan a Raise Sails Action
Action Phase: Raise sails to Full Sails
Movement phase: Move ship according to maneuver card in Slot 1 at Full Sail speed.

It just seems to me that going from zero movement to the first move potentially being at Full Sail feels wrong to me. Am I missing something? Thanks for the help.

Bligh
01-04-2017, 14:22
Not quite as you have it Gary.

Place a backing sail chit.
Planning phase one, place card.
Planning phase two place second card.
Move off on movement phase with backing sails, and then change sail settings as normal thereafter.
Rob.

gmyers46
01-04-2017, 14:43
Thank you so much for the quick answer.

Gary