PDA

View Full Version : Un Trio de Batailles Navales

Mycenius
03-09-2015, 03:15
I recently caught up with another local Auckland wargamer for a series of SGN Games - as I am relatively new to SGN (and my opponent hadn't played for 6-9 months), AND we used the full advanced and optional rules (barring 1 or 2 exceptions) we focussed on playing 1 on 1 ship actions with no particular mission other than defeat the enemy - this still produced some fun and interesting games. Our first action was a brisk and brutal one with 32-gun Frigates and I've posted a brief AAR and photos on my blog Un Trio de Batailles Navales (1) (http://wargaming.info/2015/un-trio-de-batailles-navales-1/)

Below is a photo of the key moment in the game - where the RN vessel, recovering from receiving a bow rake, deals a decisive volley of fire to the French!

More AARs will follow as I get a chance to post them...

Nightmoss
03-09-2015, 09:04
Thanks for the link and photo. Would you agree with the general consensus here that when using Standard and Advanced Rules the battles go much faster? How many turns did this exchange take and what real time transpired from start to finish, approximately? Cheers!

Mycenius
03-09-2015, 15:30
Thanks for the link and photo. Would you agree with the general consensus here that when using Standard and Advanced Rules the battles go much faster? How many turns did this exchange take and what real time transpired from start to finish, approximately? Cheers!

Game was only about 8 turns total (of which first 3 were fast manoeuvring turns with no combat) - and in real time was maybe 1½ hours BUT we were slow starting and both constantly looking stuff up to make sure we get things right! So might have played it out in 45 minutes if experienced. But yes general feel of all 3 games (the other 2 games were opposing 74's) is the advanced & optional rules make things faster as the ship's damage and decisiveness of actions is much more dramatic!

Mycenius
03-10-2015, 01:39