PDA

View Full Version : AAR: The Treasure Galleon - by spiessbuerger (Royal Prussian Navy)



spiessbuerger
07-26-2014, 16:56
Prussia (Player):
Kapitän zur See Karl Rudolf Brommy (Aiming Captain) commanding the frigate Radetzky (Courageuse)
Kapitänleutnant Philipp von Mansfeld (Deft Captain) commanding the frigate Thetis (HMS Meleager)

Spain (AI):
Captain Salvador de la Pura (no special ability) commanding the galleon Buque de Plata (HMS Defence)

Location: Atlantic Ocean 29°47'58"N 17°50'19"W

Prussian Order: Find and capture the Spanish Galleon “Buque de Plata”

10786

Game settings:
Standard rules (Veer, Time to React for player ships, Raking Shots) but only firing with ball
Plus additional rules: Variable Wind Direction, Boarding, Forced Aim, Continuous Fire, Let the Men Drink!, Crew Damage Effects on Captains, Disengagement and Ship-Hits instead of Base-Hits


10787

After spotting the Spanish Galleon the Prussian frigate Thetis signals to go in formation with the nearby Prussian frigate Radetzky.

10788

Both ships turn to lee while forming to engage the Spanish ship together.

10789

The Prussian frigates start to turn into the wind. Just in that moment the Buque de Plata fires a long broadside onto the Thetis. (filled 3 boxes)
Holy ship’s kobold! These Spanish sailors shoot well. :takecover:

10790

The Prussian frigates sound the counter attack. But either the Prussians nor the Spanish Galleon are in shooting angle or reach for their broadsides.

10791

Unfortunately the Thetis lost to much speed do go through the wind. The planned blockade against the course of the Spanish Galleon threatens to fail.

10792

Now the Buque de Plata tries to break through both Prussian frigates and fires with all guns. But the Prussians reply the fire. Serious damages on both sides as the smoke clears onto the water.

10793

While all ships are reloading the Buque de Plata looses speed and drifts back. The more agile Prussian frigates orbiting her to get some good shot.

10794

The Thetis needs to use the "Deft Captain Ability" to rotate the ship a little bit for better broadside angle. But the next broadside from the Buque de Plata hits her hard again. Only three boxes left now the Thetis has to roll the dice against disengagement – and fails. (diced a 5)

10842

Without losing men the Thetis leaves the battlefield and let the Radetzky down with the Buque de Plata. So the tide turns to the Buque de Plata which is further drifting back until she collides with the Radetzky. A first boarding attemt of the Buque de Plata over the Radetzky fails.

10796

Both ships lost their speed now and drift into lee. A deadly boarding and muskets fight breaks out for three rounds. Both Captains have to dice now but were not injured.

10797

At the end both ships are turning side by side and fire a final broadside to each other and the last crew boxes of both ships where filled at the same time. :surrender:
Both captains has to dice one last time if they were wounded: but both were lucky and did not sustain any injuries.

spiessbuerger
07-26-2014, 17:01
Result:

The final status of the disengaged and unlucky Prussian frigate Thetis (only 6 hits):

10800

The final status of the brave but surrendered Prussian frigate Radetzky. The Captain could never use his Aiming Ability:

10799

The final status of the surrendered Spanish Galleon Buque de Plata:

10798

Prussia
Captain Karl Rudolf Brommy (P) on the frigate Radetzky: surrendered same time with the Buque de Plata, no injuries
Captain Philipp von Mansfeld (P) on the frigate Thetis: disengaged and returned to port, no injuries

Spain
Captain Salvador de la Pura (AI) on the Galleon Buque de Plata: surrendered same time with the Radetzky, no injuries

+5 Points for defeating the Spanish Galleon (eliminated by filling all crew boxes, with at least one empty hull box)
-3 Points for surrendered Prussian frigate Radetzky

narrow victory (+2) for the Royal Prussian Navy

Nightmoss
07-26-2014, 17:25
Great AAR! Photos, narrative and presentation all are excellent. Congratulations on your victory too! :thumbsup:

soul taker
07-28-2014, 09:24
Congratulations on achieving your mission.

spiessbuerger
07-28-2014, 12:26
Question 1: the Radetzky (Player) and the Galleon (AI) did surrender at the same time.
The other Players frigate (Thetis) was still on table but disengaging. Did she auto-capture both surrendered captains? I would say yes.

Question 2: if a ship is disengaging, is it for the rest of the game? Or is it possible that the ship come back into battle? (for example if the balance of power is turning to her side)


Thanks Jim and Rob for your Feedback and grats :hatsoff:

Nightmoss
07-28-2014, 17:58
Question 1: the Radetzky (Player) and the Galleon (AI) did surrender at the same time.
The other Players frigate (Thetis) was still on table but disengaging. Did she auto-capture both surrendered captains? I would say yes.

Question 2: if a ship is disengaging, is it for the rest of the game? Or is it possible that the ship come back into battle? (for example if the balance of power is turning to her side)


Thanks Jim and Rob for your Feedback and grats :hatsoff:

Good questions. Just my opinion, but I would say for Question 1, if the AI ship and Player ships surrendered at the same time and you still had a player ship on the mat then the moral of the disengaging ship would change dramatically. If it isn't an automatic capture I'd certainly make the odds of it happening strongly favor the remaining player. As for Question 2 I know from the rules that a disengaging player (whether AI or not) is still going to take opportunity fire as it leaves the game. If it's still on the mat when a big change occurs I would see it coming back into play potentially, if not automatically?

Comte de Brueys
08-10-2014, 01:30
Great AAR, Matthias.

Well presented and nice pictures.

I was impressed by the boarding action. :shock:

Question 1: Your side dominated the battlefield. Surrendered or not. Th las remaing ships get the prize and equip captured or own surrendered ships with crew.

Question 2: I would say no. If a ship decides to disengage it should leave the battlefield. Once it left the gaming aera, it should be out of the game, otherwise it should keep the distance in the gaming aera and engage in the best situation again.

Bligh
07-21-2015, 09:17
Not only a very entertaining encounter, but also some useful comments after the AAR.
I will take on board those suggestions for future reference.
Thanks Matt for an entertaining game.
Rob.