PDA

View Full Version : Salutations and Greetings

SeymourGlass
07-22-2014, 13:01
Hey guys! I joined a month or so ago but have been mostly in lurker mode. But I posted a picture and was asked to introduce myself so I’ll take a shot.

I consider myself an historical miniature gamer, although I’ve dabbled in the more mainstream stuff like Warhamer Fantasy, 40k, and Battletech. The last couple of years my main games have been Flames of War, Boltaction and Warhammer Ancient Battles. I have more armies for these and other historical periods than I’d really care to admit.

I’m a fairly average painter but very prolific, and paint or model at least an hour a day. I’ve been struggling with some eye issues (macular degeneration) which has slowed me down a bit, but I’m adjusting. I can see pretty well with glasses and a magnifying hood but it tends to produce headaches so I do quite a bit of work without completely seeing what I’m doing. I really love sculpting and greenstuff but most of my work has a sort of fluffy quality about it and sharp edges and “fierceness” are not easy for me. I’ve gotten a lot of positive feedback on some of my sillier stuff like a baby beholder complete with rattle, binky and a frilly bonnet.

I have a small collection of GHQ 1/1200 Napoleonic ships that I’ve used a couple of times in the past, most recently with the “Trafalgar” rules but they mostly sit in the cabinet. I also spent the better part of the summer of 1977 playing the classic Avalon Hill’s Wooden Ships and Iron Men which has left a deep mark. The other formative gaming experience with sailing ships was with an earlier Computer game by TalonSoft called Age of Sail. I played the hell out of a couple of versions of that game at the end of the nineties.