PDA

View Full Version : Anchors



Berthier
01-21-2014, 22:25
Anyone have any ideas on how to add anchors to the SOG ships? Any tricks on making them, at least for the 1st-3rd rates they would add to the visual appeal.

Nightmoss
01-21-2014, 23:07
Anyone have any ideas on how to add anchors to the SOG ships? Any tricks on making them, at least for the 1st-3rd rates they would add to the visual appeal.

I think Vol has verified that you can buy the 1/1200 scale anchor sprues from GHQ, but you may not like the scale difference?

http://theminiaturespage.com/boards/msg.mv?id=313600
http://www.ghqmodels.com/pages/about/english.asp

Nothing else comes to mind as far as making your own, or buying from another vendor?

The Royal Hajj
01-22-2014, 08:07
you might could find some super thin solder that you could form to shape. That or get some sculpting putty and practice rolling out those snakes!

The Royal Hajj
01-22-2014, 08:08
Oh, also just thought of photo etched brass anchors. I don't think there is enough interest for them to be an AA product, but there are do it your self photo etching kits/guides out there.

Pseudotheist
01-24-2014, 16:35
Oh, also just thought of photo etched brass anchors. I don't think there is enough interest for them to be an AA product, but there are do it your self photo etching kits/guides out there.

Probably too late in the production prcess, but is there room for a pair of anchors on your ratline sheets?

The Royal Hajj
01-24-2014, 16:41
I'm sure we could make room easily enough, but that would require redesigning the frets as this point. Not something I want to do since it would just delay them longer.

The Mad Hatter
01-27-2014, 19:32
Hadn't even thought of anchors! Yet another easy add that just makes the models a bit nicer. Anyone spring for the GHQ anchors yet?